Picture
Today, for the first time, I tried on wedding dresses!  It was an interesting and very fun experience.  I got to try on a lot of pretty dresses, as well as some duds, but there were definitely a few that stood out!  We went to David's Bridal in Oakdale.  It was just my sister and I, although my mom realized where we were going just before we left and would have liked to come along.  Amanda and I wanted to make it just a "Sister Day".

The appointment started well.  As expected, when I said Andy's last name, the consultant gawked for a moment and asked me to spell it for her!  Yes, Andy is Greek and I will get a name that people will always ask me to spell!  Our consultant was Alex.  She was very nice, but a little quiet.  I put on dresses on my own, but they gave me a long-line strapless bra to use while I tried on the dresses.  I was very happy about that.  It gave me a nice shape, although it was very difficult to put on!  I started to, and got what I thought was pretty close to done before I called Amanda in to help me.  She had to completely redo almost all the hooks because they were a little off!  I told Alex that I like a lot of dresses with gathering and rouching over the stomach and bust and gave her pictures of ones I saw on their website I liked.  The first dress I tried on was a mermaid-style with rouching all over the dress and pick-ups on the back of the skirt.  Very interesting, but I didn't care for the train because it was rather like a down comforter!  That was a very quick, "nice, but no" and on to the next one!

The next was a very trendy dress, no rouching, but with applique-ish flowers all over.  I like the silhouette and the neckline, but I'm not trendy or showy like that!  After that, we stopped taking picture of every one and only took pictures of the ones we liked.  There were a few duds in there, but then we found one of our favorites!

Picture
Picture
The next one, one of our favorites (like in the top 2!) was gorgeous!  It was the first time I absolutely loved my figure in it and it was so elegant!  I loved the sparkle, and even loved the pick-ups, even though that's something I wasn't fond of before!  I tried this one on again at the very end, just before we left, because I loved it so much!  It was the first time I wanted to put on a veil with one of my dresses!  (Although, I couldn't believe how expensive the veils are!  The one I have on in this picture is $180!!  Ridiculous!!)
Picture
I think I'll stick to the ones that were in our top 4 from now on.  The next one we really liked took a little warming up to!  I wasn't sure I liked the tiers on the bottom of the skirt for this one, but I really liked the top, even though it wasn't the neckline I really liked.  But, after I looked at it in the mirror for a while, I started to really like it!  Amanda really liked the train and the detail that continued around it.  We both liked the back and how it flows back from where the butt is/zipper ends.
Picture
The first hour and a half FLEW by!  Our appointment started at 3:30 (though we might have been a little late!) and suddenly, it was 5:00 and Alex had to go home!  After that, we had a different consultant (I can't remember her name!).  She pulled a lot more dresses from the ones I chose from the pictures online.  Many were very nice.  I always felt bad when the consultant was very excited about a dress I was trying on, but I wasn't.  There were a couple like that.  Then... there was this one!!
Picture
I was excited to see this one hanging in the dressing room for me to try on next!  I remembered that I really liked the pictures!  As soon as I got in front of the mirror, I was jumping up and down because I was excited!  The rouching detail and structure in the back were really neat and the flower on the side added a little bling and interest.  The only thing I didn't care about was that the train wasn't very long.  It was very pretty and very "me", according to Amanda.  I was definitely stuck on this one and my first favorite.

At this point, I couldn't figure out how I would ever choose just one dress to where on my wedding day.  The last one I tried on was also a favorite, though probably only number 3.  Amanda didn't care for the spastic embroidered and beaded flowers on the skirt.  I loved the side sashy-thinger and embroidery/rouching on the bodice
Picture
By the time we got to this dress, both Amanda and I were getting pretty hungry!  It was probably about 5:30 and I couldn't believe they let us stay this long!  I tried on my first favorite one more time (the one with the pick-ups), oogled a bit, compared it to the one it tied with (flower on the side) then decided it was time to go!  We headed over to Olive Garden to finish out our "Sister Day" and came home with some lovely leftovers!

It'll be a long time before I make a decision, and I still have hesitations about buying from David's Bridal (it's really dumb, but I think they seem kind of cheap...)  Also, there's still a dress from a different designer that I found in a magazine I want to try on.  But, in the mean time, I have these gorgeous dresses to look back on and I think I'd be okay with either of my favorites from here as well!



Leave a Reply.